December 24 - 25: All locations closed.
December 26:
Dayton's Bluff and West 7th libraries closed.
The Bookmobile will be out of service December 22 - January 2.

Saint Paul Public Library Hosting Cultural Programs for Kids

Date: Dec 13th, 2012

Saint Paul Public Library will be hosting a series of free cultural events for kids in January and February. The Global Passport series features programs from Japanese Kite Making to African Drumming.

Programs are for kids in grades three to six. All are free! If families pick up an event postcard at their library, they can bring it to each program to get stamped, just like a passport!

The program schedule is below:

Japanese Kites
Presented by ArtStart
Wednesday, Jan. 2, 3-5 p.m., West 7th Library

Open Sesame!
Presented by Compas
Saturday, Jan. 5, 3:45-4:45 p.m., Merriam Park Library

Caribbean Shell Frame Art
Presented by ArtStart
Saturday, Jan. 12, 3-5 p.m., Highland Park Library

Yup'ik Masks
Presented by ArtStart
Thursday, Jan. 17, 5-7 p.m., Sun Ray Library

Afro-Brazilian Percussion and Rhythm
Presented by Compas
Saturday, Jan. 19, 2:30-3:30 p.m., Rice Street Library

Acting Out Kindness
Presented by SteppingStone Theatre
Tuesday, Jan. 22, 10:30-11:30 a.m., Rondo Library

Metal Work - Milagros
Presented by ArtStart
Saturday, Feb. 2, 1:30-3:30 p.m., Riverview Library

Fairytales from Around the World
Presented by SteppingStone Theatre
Friday, Feb. 8, 10:30 a.m.-noon, Rondo Library

African Gris Gris Pouches
Presented by ArtStart
Saturday, Feb. 16, noon-2 p.m., Merriam Park Library

African Drumming and Dance
Presented by Duniya Drum & Dance
Saturday, Feb. 23, 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m., Central Library

Sand Painting
Presented by ArtStart
Saturday, Feb. 23, 1:30-2:30 p.m., Hayden Heights Library

Additional information, including program descriptions, is available at sppl.org/grade-school/passport

These programs are supported by the Minnesota Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.